Irritations and Disappointments


So, everything is looking good for the book launch at FantasyCon 2012 – except I won’t be there.

It turns out that you have to be a member of Fantasy Con in order to attend.  I didn’t know.

Maybe I’m too naive.  I really did think that, as it was my book being launched (amidst loads of others, of course) that I could just turn up and enjoy my 15 minutes of (extremely minor and limited) fame.  After my publisher told me about the launch, I should have checked all the details on the Fantasy Con website.  But I didn’t. Then, yesterday, my wife suddenly asked if there was an entrance fee.  I didn’t know.  My publisher hadn’t mentioned it.  He hadn’t thought to mention it, and I hadn’t thought to ask.  So I emailed him yesterday evening and today when I got in from work I read his reply.

Oh well, life is full of irritations and disappointments and this is just one more.

So if you were planning to go along to say hello and maybe pick up a signed copy, I’m afraid you’re going to be disappointed.  Of course, if you have a membership you can still go along, and I would encourage you to do so.  But I will only be there in spirit.

Leave a comment

Filed under General, My Writing

Leave a Reply

