When do you write?


Finding the time to write is my biggest problem (aside from paying the bills, of course).  When I’m in work (at the moment I’m ‘between’) it’s been my lot to always have to commute.  I’ve never yet worked less than 25 road-miles away and as you can imagine this eats a lot of time what with road works, traffic jams, the occasional breakdown.  Take my last job.  The travel distance was just under 25 miles.  I’d be up at 6:30 AM, on the road by 7-ish, in work for 8, leave work between 5:30 and 6 PM (sometimes quite a bit later) and get back home for between 6:30 and 7 in the evening.  After a full day’s work (and I do mean full) once we’ve eaten the time is around 8-ish.  Years ago, when the weight of age was less and fitness was something to be taken for granted, I’d do the same job, travel the same distance, eat the same food and still find the energy to engage in whatever pastime I was into.  Now, however, come 8 in the evening I’m knackered.  Consequently my writing takes place at weekends, but not the whole of the weekend.  Other family members take their share.  I worked it out the other day and I actually write, on average, between 24 and 30 hours per month.  No wonder it seems to take me for ever to complete anything! Bugger.

1 Comment

Filed under General, My Writing

One response to “When do you write?

  1. 24-30 hours per month is not to be sniffed at. I’ve had long periods when I didn’t manage that much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

